21 Veggies Worth.

chocolate tiarra

I will wear a crown of chocolate….

I am not sure if I mentioned this before, because I am too lazy to go back into my gigantic backlog of posts to see, but we are getting ready to launch a seasonal menu for the delis in 2014. This is all very exciting stuff, but I must tell you, there are not a TON of seasonal veggies available in the winter, much less those that are organic and local in nature. So, while our soups and entrees are just rip roarin’ along, our salad selection is not as robust as I would like. In fact, I admit, though I promised myself I wouldn’t, I asked one of the cooks to create a couple more salads just for the seasonal salad menu. One turned out to have red peppers in it, but that is another story. Just kidding. No red peppers. But, it did have stuff in it that was decidedly not wintry, so, there ya go. Anyway, 2014 is only three weeks away, but I am fully confident that our cooks and deli staff will pull this off in fine fashion.

Here is a list of the produce the cooks are working with presently, just so you have an idea of what they are dealing with:

WINTER PRODUCE:

  • Parsnips
  • Rutabaga
  • Squash
  • Jerusalem Artichokes
  • Sweet Potato
  • Brussel Sprouts

Here is a list of veggies that are said to be available all year round:

  • Bok Choy
  • Broccoli
  • Cabbage
  • Carrots
  • Cauliflower
  • Chard
  • Collards
  • Kale
  • Kohlrabi
  • Specialty Greens
  • Leeks
  • Lettuce
  • Radishes
  • Spinach
  • Turnips

So, there you have it. We are doing our best to be great stewards of the environment and responsible purveyors of fine food with a list of roughly 21 vegetables to choose from. That is how much we care. 21 veggies worth. That is a lot when measured geologically. Not as much in dog years, though.

If you are wondering why there is a picture of a woman wearing a chocolate crown in my post, it is two-fold: One, it is a fantastic picture that I think everyone should have the pleasure of viewing. Two, if we pull this seasonal thing off as I envision it, I will create one to wear around the co-op and eat in celebration of this gastronomic feat.

Leave a Reply

