Brain food for the Weak of Heart

CG 2 CG 3 chocolatey goodnessI believe I may have shared my struggle with you regarding my complex and troubled relationship with sweets/sugar/baked goods. It has been a bit of a challenge to avoid sugar while surrounded by such delicious treats on a constant basis. I would be lying if I said I had not been considering different ways to avoid eating the sugary goodness here at the co-op…things like stapling my mouth closed, using a clothes pin for my nose, or a blindfold for my eyes, or some combination of the three have all been under serious consideration at one point or another over the last six months.

Today, I inexplicably experienced an astounding breakthrough called the Chocolate Dreamcake. I spied it in the baked goods grab-n-go case while doing a little “quality control”, and had to pick it up to see exactly what was going on there. It turns out, not much: raw cashews, agave syrup, raw cocoa, coconut oil, almond meal, dates, vanilla extract and sea salt. I was skeptical, but I bought it and tried it. I have to say, it was incredibly delicious, and what’s more, I am sitting here, almost an hour after having eaten it, and I am not experiencing any type of crash whatsoever. In fact, I am writing this amazed with myself at how well this writing thing is going. I might even go so far as to call the Chocolate Dreamcake “brain food”. Too far? maybe, but it inspired me to look up other of the bakery department’s cane sugar-free delights:

  • Chipmunk Chewies
  • Chakra Khan Bars
  • Seed Treat
  • Squirrel Bars
  • Agave Coconut Crunch
  • Coco Cashew Balls
  • Blueberry Dreamcake
  • Chocolate Dreamcake
  • Coconut Cashew Cake
  • Coconut Rice Pudding with Blueberries
  • Guilt Free Chocolate Cake

There is hope dear friends. Hope for a life with a gentler, kinder form of sugar. One which will not lead to diabetes* or cancer*, or send me spiraling downward into a sugar coma.

*These claims have not been evaluated by any third-party entity, and as such the reader should take them with a grain of salt. Which also has not been proven to cause cancer or diabetes.

One thought on “Brain food for the Weak of Heart

  1. Pingback: Cake is the Answer to Every Question | Kitchen Notes

Leave a Reply

