My First Annual Meeting and Party (AMP)

Macaroons-IMG_4576Ever since the AMP ended, (yes, since the second it was over) I have been dying to write about it. Of course, I had a full day of recovery time, as my right arm was a bit too sore to move, but that is a story for another time, another place.

The AMP is the big event at the Co-op. I have to admit, I was a little worried about it, as it was my first time coordinating it, but as the event played out, I came to see that my concern was for naught.

It is a team effort on the largest of scales. Put on to inform and thank our members, we do our best to be our best, and it takes a lot of work and care to pull it off. We estimate that we serve between 600 and 700 people on the night of the event. It is an important event to everyone at the Co-op, and we do our best not to let anyone down.

I am writing this blog post to thank the people responsible for making the catering part of it so great.

First of all, James Aikins. The man who orchestrates the food procurement and preparation, is truly a miracle on two legs. On the two days previous to the event, he makes about 700 lbs of food in a way that conveys love, attention, and gratitude. He works in a small kitchen with a small walk-in refrigerator, and does a great deal of the work himself. He does not complain. Ever. I aspire to be like him someday.

Secondly, the bakers. Y’all know how much I love me some cake, and they did not disappoint this year. The desserts were beautiful and plentiful; two things you need to make desserts absolutely perfect, and they were.

Donna-Zoe-Ashley-Sara-IMG_4432Next, the service staff. There are not enough words, not enough truly special and amazing words to describe our staff. Donna, Trey, Ashley, Zoe, Jessie; these people are the most diligent, caring people you will ever meet or work with, and working next to them is always a lesson for me. They do very demanding work with smiles on their faces and all care, truly, about the experience the members are having.

Next, the volunteers. Who are these magical people and where do they come from? I don’t know but they make the event more manageable and enjoyable….and, let’s just say it, entertaining.

Lastly, and most importantly, the members. They are who we do this for, and they are, by far the best group of people I have ever had the opportunity to work for. They are forgiving, patient, kind and helpful, and the evening is made so much more enjoyable because of all the gratitude we receive from them throughout. It is truly amazing to cater an event in the midst of such gratitude.

Jesscia-Ashley-IMG_4574So, there you have it. A labor of love embodied in the Annual Meeting and Party. Thank you all for being a part of it. I learned a lot and look forward to next year.

Leave a Reply

