Shout Out!!

Benedict Mt BakeryOh, the weekend. A time to kick back, relax, and eat at least one thing that makes tears form in the corners of your eyes. One thing that makes you grateful for everything you have given up during the week in order to eat this rich, delicious and fantastic meal.

Okay, yeah, I guess I don’t give up that much during the week. In fact, this last week I might have had pie for breakfast twice, but these facts do not make this creation any less enjoyable. In fact, in retrospect, breakfast pie makes this meal even more noteworthy. Context is everything, you see.

I will get to it. On Sunday morning, I happened in to Mount Bakery with a very good friend of mine who also loves good food. We decided to split a sweet crepe before starting on our meals, and it was a good thing we did. I would not have had room after.

My friend ordered Mt. Bakery’s version of the classic Benedict, served, as you might surmise, on a tasty belgian waffle. Yeah, it was good. He is a purist and prefers the traditional English Muffin, but personally, I always make room for waffles in any meal I eat. Just in case.mount bakery

I ordered a pan seared roasted duck breast crepe. The crepe was heavenly; mixed local mushrooms, shallots, spinach, goat cheese and an incredible pear and parsnip puree that pulled the whole thing together. The flavors, save the cheese, delicate and balanced perfectly. The cheese gave it that added kick that makes your mouth water even as you chew. I could not have wished for more.

It pleases me to no end that such things can be had in the little town of Bellingham. It makes me so happy to be here, and comforted to know that I can partake in such pleasures, even if it is a two breakfast pie week.

 

Leave a Reply

