Gluten-free and FABULOUS!!

I was gluten-free before it was cool. Yup. believe it or not, back in 1991, I was told that I was gluten intolerant. This strange bit of information was delivered to me shortly after I was told that I was dairy intolerant, banana intolerant, apple intpot de creme torteolerant, strawberry intolerant, citrus intolerant, and my fave, sugar intolerant. After my doctor told me all this, she followed with, “you must feel like a freak.”

In truth, I did, but it had nothing to do with my eating habits/proclivities.

She gave me a choice, eating modification, drugs, or surgery. I did what any sane person would do and I changed my eating habits. If I hadn’t felt like a freak before, trying to eat without  all this intolerable material  in my food sure changed that. I basically couldn’t go out to eat, and it took hours to prepare my food every morning (I had opted for the macrobiotic lifestyle.) Socializing became a real chore. And not in the usual socially-awkward-early-twenties-girl way, in the you-can’t-ever-go-out-to-eat-because-no-one-serves-freaks-like-you way. That way sucks more.

Flash forward twenty-five years, and here I am, overseeing the certification of gluten-free bakery production in the co-op’s new building. This makes my eating habits in the early nineties look like a walk in the park. You would not believe what it is going to take to get that place certified and keep it certified. WOW. I am not going to go into detail. It is not the stuff of which fantastic blog posts are made, but let me tell you, if you can tell in no other way, this endeavor alone should demonstrate how much the co-op cares about keeping its promises.

What is the point? Yeah…I always have one. We are working on something that is going to really set us apart. Not only are our gluten free baked goods delicious, there will be a time in the not too distant future where they will be coming from a certified gluten free kitchen.

The irony of this situation is not lost on me, of course, and it has inspired me to look forward with wild aspirations for greatness. I am hoping that in the not-too-distant future, I will be in charge of fruit-free salads, sugar-free sauces, and perhaps, if I am lucky, citrus-free lemonade. Dare to dream.

Leave a Reply

